Kids

Someone once said, “It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men.”

Southeast Christian Church’s Children’s and Student ministries exist to partner with parents in discipling their sons and daughters to follow Jesus. They seek to connect people to Jesus and one another.

From early childhood to college age, there is a place for everyone to know and be known.

Early Childhood Ministry

SE!Kids comes alongside moms and dads to help kids know God, grow in faith and show God’s love to others by creating a place where every child’s name and story is known. Weekly children’s programs are educational and engaging, as they help kids discover God and His Word on their own level. Their belief is kids aren’t just the church of tomorrow, they’re the church of today.

> The nursery is an environment where babies feel safe, nurtured and loved.

> Toddlers have time to play with others, hear Bible stories from volunteer leaders and enjoy a snack during weekend worship services.

> Preschool children have playtime in their classrooms before coming together for a large-group worship service. They sing high-energy worship songs and learn about the Bible through a blend of video and live teaching.

Elementary Ministry

The Elementary Ministry targets its teaching on three concepts: I need to make the wise choice, I can trust God no matter what and I should treat others the way I want to be treated.

Elementary students spend weekend worship in small and large groups, where they learn about the Big Idea of the month through Scripture teaching and worship. Third- through fifth-grade students have the opportunity to take communion.

Elementary students also have an opportunity to participate in small group Bible studies of 20 to 25 students, which meet on Sunday mornings for an hour.

Elementary contacts

Blankenbaker: Jodi Barnett (502) 253-8803, jbarnett@secc.org

Indiana: Mary Pat Hisle (812) 704-1969, mhisle@secc.org 

Crestwood: Dawn Kroboth (502) 873-1097, dkroboth@secc.org 

La Grange: Andrea Harley (502) 614-1217, aharley@secc.org

Southwest: Rolanda Castanon (502) 614-1523, rcastanon@secc.org

Elizabethtown: Ryne Able (502) 270-4647, rable@secc.org

River Valley: Jennifer Baumer (502) 488-0609, jbaumer@secc.org

Middle School Ministry

The Middle School Ministry includes students from sixth to eighth grade. The weekend program acts as a space for students to worship, learn God’s Word and get plugged into a small group.

MSM also offers weekly opportunities for students to serve within the church, such as MSM Hangouts, service projects, the Believe conference and MIX summer camp. Those are just a few of the events hosted to help students connect to Jesus and one another.

MSM contacts

Blankenbaker: Cathy Cook (502) 253-8521, ccook@secc.org

Indiana: Mandy Rick (812) 704-1994, mrick@secc.org

Crestwood: Nickie Timmins (502) 873-1120, ntimmins@secc.org

Southwest: Matt Erxleben (502) 614-1509, merxleben@secc.org

La Grange: Anna Ochs (502) 614-1218, aochs@secc.org

Elizabethtown: Chelsea Bartlett (270) 506-4651, cbartlett@secc.org

River Valley: Jacob Roy (502) 619-2787, jroy@secc.org

High School Ministry

The High School Ministry welcomes students to engage in high-energy, authentic worship, hear truth from God’s Word and receive challenges to help them grow in their relationships with Jesus and others.

During the school year, students meet in home-based small groups that are grade- and gender-specific. Students gather to pray, learn about who Jesus is and build meaningful friendships.

Special events include Bible & Beach in Florida, missions trips, service projects and retreats at Country Lake Christian Retreat.

HSM contacts

Blankenbaker: Cathy Cook (502) 253-8521, ccook@secc.org

Indiana: Mandy Rick (812) 704-1994, mrick@secc.org

Crestwood: Nickie Timmins (502) 873-1120, ntimmins@secc.org

Southwest: Matt Erxleben (502) 614-1509, merxleben@secc.org

La Grange: Anna Ochs (502) 614-1218, aochs@secc.org

Elizabethtown: Chelsea Bartlett (270) 506-4651, cbartlett@secc.org

River Valley: Jacob Roy (502) 619-2787, jroy@secc.org

College-Age Ministry

The College-Age Ministry is a family of young people ages 18 to 25 seeking to connect to Jesus and one another.

Whether in college, working or somewhere in-between, college-age people are welcome to take part in the authentic, disciple-making community and the weekly, interactive Bible studies.

CAM offers Community Groups, Navigate, Movement Nights and Hangouts among other unique events over the course of the year.

CAM contacts

Blankenbaker: Zach Motes (502) 253-8464 zmotes@secc.org

Southwest: Heather Stacy (502) 614-1506, hstacy@secc.org